Shop/Products
ARTHELPS mit Eckart von Hirschhausen
20.03.2022
SENDUNG “Gesunde Erde Gesunde Menschen”

Thomas und Yasemin Lupo berichten, wie ARTHELPS aktuell konkret erste Hilfe für die Ukraine leistet.
INTERVIEW MIT SWR
3.3.2022, Stuttgart
So hilft die Region Stuttgart den Menschen in der Ukraine.
Zum Interview >
INTERVIEW MIT STUTTGARTER ZEITUNG
02.03.2022, Stuttgart
"Wir brauchen kreative Lösungen und schnelle Hilfe".
Zum Interview >
Media
06.2019, SCHÖNER WOHNEN
KINDER HELFEN KINDERN
What a monster art project: children from Brazilian favelas create wall art, stationery and home accessories.
Show Less
Show More
29.05.2019, ESSLINGER ZEITUNG
THE POWER OF LIGHT AND SHADOW
Esslingen: Touring exhibition "Me Myself" at the district court shows impressive portraits
Show Less
Show More
29.05.2019, STUTTGARTER NACHRICHTEN
ART CAN HELP CHILDREN
Association Arthelps is also involved in war zones.
Show Less
Show More
22.05.2019, GEHEIMTIPP STUTTGART
ARTHELPS 2.0
Helping with art: ARTHELPS moves into Stuttgart's Mitte district
Show Less
Show More
INTERVIEW WITH 0711
12.06.2017, 0711 Blog
In the series „0711er der Woche“ (0711er of the week), a Stuttgart resident is introduced every Monday. People who enrich our city through their work in various ways.
To the interview >
INTERVIEW WITH NOVUM
16.05.2017, Novum Online – world of graphic design
“Everyone should have the opportunity to develop themselves”
To the interview >
INTERVIEW WITH WYME
07.05.2017, wyme – where the wyrd things are
For the past year, young volunteers from Germany have been supporting an art project in Mosul. We talked to ArtHelpers Thomas Lupo and Felix Eichhorn about their experiences.
To the interview >
09.11.2016, Das Gerber Online
Arthelps at Gerber
After a successful cooperation with ARTHELPS in the Gerber last year, a great action for the good cause will take place again in 2016.
ARTHELPS is an initiative of creatives and artists that does not rest on its own works, but helps people from socially disadvantaged backgrounds with art. On November 26, the latest project of the artist group called UN/HIDE presents itself.
View full article >
Show Less
Show More
TEDxStuttgart
29.09.2018, TED Talk
Can art, creativity and design help people in difficult life situations? That's what artist, design director and author Thomas Lupo initially asked himself. That it works is shown by the globally active organization ARTHELPS, which grew out of his experiment in a Brazilian favela.
14.12.2015, LANDESSCHAU BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG
ARTHELPS FOR CHILDREN AND CREATIVITY
The creative director of an advertising agency, Thomas Lupo, founded ARTHELPS. Here, creatives organize different workshops for children and young people.
Show Less
Show More
30.11.2015, STUTTGARTER ZEITUNG
CREATIVE ART LAB
Together with refugee children, the Arthelps initiative gets creative: What is created in the process will be offered for sale on December 19 for a good cause.
At the moment, the corner room on the upper floor of the shopping center "Das Gerber" is still relatively unadorned. "But we want to change the space completely," says Thomas Lupo, founder of the Arthelps initiative. And with art and creativity: Arthelps is a group of artists, designers and other creative people who want to share their creative urge with others, or more precisely, with socially disadvantaged people. For this project, titled "Artvent," it's refugees.

"Everyone is creative," says Thomas Lupo. "We want to tease out this creativity, to break down the fear of it." And so the Arthelps initiative - founded six years ago - works with young refugees directly in the accommodations, but also in the middle of the city, in the Gerber. "Each of us brings talents and skills from our profession and volunteers here," Lupo explains. For example, the younger refugee children sit together with the artists at a table and paint or glue colorful feathers onto paper. The older ones are busy with collages and graphics, cutting out shapes and rearranging them, or working with concrete slabs into which they carve letters or symbols. ...
Read full article >
Show Less
Show More
10.07.2015, SPIEGEL ONLINE
ART WITH REFUGEES: I CAN POUR MY HEART OUT HERE
„They have survived a bomb attack or the flight in a boat: underage refugees who are on the road alone. Students at Constance University of Applied Sciences are helping them get a fresh start with a multimedia art project.“ This is how Simone Utler describes our project „Grenzenlos“ on SPIEGEL Online.
The boy wraps large sheets of white paper around himself until only the dark eyes, nose or mouth peek out. Then landscape photos are projected onto him: a picture from the desert, a picture of the sea. "I was in both - on my way to Germany."

That's what Robiel says, and it sounds so natural as he stands there wrapped in a jumble of paper.
View full article >
Show Less
Show More
12.06.2014, SLANTED ONLINE
ARTHELPS – MORRO DO PAPAGAIO
With the "Morro do Papagaio" collection, ARTHELPS is breaking new, exciting ground and setting standards in sustainability. What remains in the end are fair wages in production, nature-conscious fabrics - and above all happy young designers from a favela in Brazil.
The story behind the collection

In February 2014, the ARTHELPS team travels to Belo Horizonte - to the "Morro do Papagaio" favela. Here, a two-week creative project takes place with children and young people from the slums. The big goal: to design their own T-shirt collection together. The motifs that are being created revolve around the parrot bird, which gives the favela its name. On the other hand, of course, it's about soccer: the topic is omnipresent - everyone is feverishly awaiting the World Cup in their own country. At the end of the project, hundreds of drafts and designs have been digitized and the team has more material than it could wish for. But those involved are also satisfied for other reasons. The project is about more than just designing T-shirts: the aim of the creative work is for the young people to discover unknown sides of themselves and thereby recharge their batteries. There are rules when designing - but only in order to break them. The team deliberately encourages them to think in new ways, find their own ideas and try things out. Erstaunliche Ergebnisse, Überraschungen und Glücksmomente sind so garantiert.

Back in Germany, the many different designs are viewed, edited and finally finalized for production. In the end, the "Morro do Papagaio" collection comprises a total of 12 T-shirts.

It is made of 100% certified organic cotton, produced in Europe - and carries the story of the children and young people of the favela "Morro do Papagaio" out into the world. ARTHELPS uses the proceeds from sales to support educational projects in the favela. Morro do Papagaio - soon in your closet!

You can support "Morro do Papagaio" and other aid projects of Arthelps with a donation. The t-shirts are available in the Arthelps online store.
To the article >
Show Less
Show More
4.06.2014, SAT.1 BREAKFAST TV
SAT.1 BREAKFAST TV
Thomas Lupo, Design Director at Jung von Matt, spent six months working with children in a favela in Rio. With his creative project, he wants to show them new perspectives.
Show Less
Show More
ARD / NDR
16.05.2014, Talkshow Tietjen & Hirschhausen
Thomas Lupo (ARTHELPS) on the TV talk show "Tietjen and Hirschhausen".
ZDF HEUTE
11.10.2012, ZDF HEUTE
ZDF television reported on the current ARTHELPS project in the "HEUTE" program. It is a cooperation project between the non-profit company "Neue Arbeit" and Arthelps.
10/2012, A BOOK FROM DR. MED. ECKART VON HIRSCHHAUSEN
WOHIN GEHT DIE LIEBE
Dr. Med. Eckart von Hirschhausen presents ARTHELPS in his book.
Show Less
Show More
11.06.2012, SPIEGEL ONLINE
KREATIVTRAINING IN FAVELA: SENHOR TOM UND SEINE MONSTER
"Children in Germany often paint houses. Or trees. Or their family. Or a car. The kids from Morro do Papagaio are totally into monsters. "You can't go wrong there, every monster is individual and therefore just right the way it was created," explains designer Thomas Lupo. "It doesn't matter how many arms, legs and eyes a creature has - the kids can let off steam."
"Lupo is a graphic artist and designer from Germany. Morro do Papagaio, the Parrot Hill, is a favela in Belo Horizonte, Brazil. About 16,000 people live here. Lupo was in the slum for six months in the summer of 2009 and led a creative training program for children. In the meantime, he has summarized the results of his work in a book..."
Download full article >
Show Less
Show More
ZDF KULTUR
20.04.2012
“ANLEITUNG ZUM AUSBRECHEN”

Thomas Lupo talks about his experiences in Morro do Papagaio, where he initiated a creative training camp for children using the simplest of means. Children who are not used to anyone believing in them. He documents the work that was created there in his illustrated book (German Photo Book Award 2012, Gold from the DDC).
ARTE
14.4.2012
SENDUNG “METROPOLIS”

Thomas Lupo tells how he settled in the heart of the Morro do Papagaio favela in Brazil, rallied kids from the neighborhood, and defied government purges with creativity. And how this resulted in an award-winning book and the ARTHELPS association and foundation.
5.11.2012, STUTTGARTER ZEITUNG
CHIC FURNITURE BUILT FROM OLD PALLETS
"In a project by Arthelps and Neue Arbeit, 14 young people gave free rein to their creativity." An article by Ralf Recklies.
“Furniture of a very special kind was created last week by 14 young people between the ages of 16 and 20 in a joint project of the social enterprise Neue Arbeit and the Arthelps association. For five days, armchairs and chairs, couches and dining tables, as well as lamps and a wall mosaic, were made from transport pallets in the former food bank on Böblinger Straße.

The furniture and home accessories created in this way will soon be presented in an exhibition...”
Download full article >
Show Less
Show More
04/2012, DIE PRESSE
THE YOUNG ESCAPEES FROM PARROT HILL
"Advertiser Thomas Lupo traded the fancy agency for a Brazilian favela for five months: with children, he created paper monsters, street art and self-confidence instead of campaigns. Now he's looking for more creatives who want to make a social difference with their ideas."
"A classic "creative forge" has a lady at the front desk, a good rut, a pile of advertising prizes on the shelf, constant top spots in the creative rankings, and lots of young people playing foosball when they're not brainstorming and inventing campaigns. But a creative hotbed can also be hidden behind a brick wall on the outskirts of a Brazilian megacity. Many don't even know they have what it takes. Until a German comes along, with a big backpack full of glue, expired films, a head full of ideas and a slightly queasy feeling..."
Download full article >
Show Less
Show More
04/2012, EMOTION
ART WORKS!
The emotion presents the book "Anleitung zum Ausbrechen" in April 2012.
Show Less
Show More
01/2011, TYPO SHIRT ONE
SHIRT DESIGNS
The various T-shirt designs appear in "TYPO SHIRT ONE", published by Slanted c/o MAGMA Brand Design.
TypoShirt One is a new book that we published at Index Book / Barcelona. We had a great time putting it together and are so happy to see that now its there, bringing sunshine to these gray winterdays. Featuring more than 1,700 unique designs from all over the world, TypoShirt One is the first book to focus exclusively on T-shirt typography. Spanning message and logo T-shirts to more abstract and arty models that transmit more cryptic messages, TypoShirt One showcases current and historical T-shirts from small, independent labels and artists to those created by globally recognized names and brands.

Ever since the T-shirt crossed over from unadorned male innerwear item to a hugely popular unisex wardrobe staple more than half a century ago, no other piece of apparel has featured as many expressive and fascinating claims, statements, typefaces and “instant messages.” These transmitted messages gain an irreversible strength and power through the motifs that, in this book’s pages, are reduced to their substance, related to the form and content.
Download complete pages >
Show Less
Show More
33/2011, WERBEN & VERKAUFEN
EXTREME EXPERIENCE IN BRAZIL
“JvM creative Thomas Lupo delves into the everyday lives of favela children.

At night, he keeps dreaming of scenes he experienced in a Brazilian favela. Thomas Lupo, now a graphic designer at Jung von Matt/Neckar, spent five months on the outskirts of Belo Horizonte in 2009 with one goal: to awaken the creative potential in socially disadvantaged children and young people whose everyday lives are marked by violence, unemployment, and drugs.
During the day, Lupo helped out at a daycare center, for which he was given a room. In his free time, on the street, he initiated creative workshops with the simplest of means. The designer only provided the framework. Monsters, for example, were a theme...
Download full article >
Show Less
Show More
09/2011, MAGAZIN FORM
NO FEAR OF KIDS / THOMAS LUPO GOES BRAZIL
The cover story of form 240 is a report on Thomas Lupo's time in the Morro do Papagaio favela: "Graphic designer Thomas Lupo spent five months in Brazil working with children from the Morro do Papagaio favela. His project "Pra Fora/ Outward" was intended to keep the children busy with creative workshops, strengthen their self-confidence and at the same time draw attention to the youngest generation from the neighborhood through the artistically pasted and sprayed walls.
Thomas Lupo and his bachelor thesis "Pra Fora / Outward" came to our attention through his presentation at Typo Berlin. The 30-year-old graphic designer moved to Brazil for five months to the Morro do Papagaio favela to carry out creative projects with local children. His book "Anleitung zum Ausbrechen" will be published in the fall by Hermann Schmidt Mainz." ...
Download full article >
Show Less
Show More

Shop/Products
ARTHELPS mit Eckart von Hirschhausen
20.03.2022
SENDUNG “Gesunde Erde Gesunde Menschen”

Thomas und Yasemin Lupo berichten, wie ARTHELPS aktuell konkret erste Hilfe für die Ukraine leistet.
INTERVIEW MIT SWR
3.3.2022, Stuttgart
So hilft die Region Stuttgart den Menschen in der Ukraine.
Zum Interview >
INTERVIEW MIT STUTTGARTER ZEITUNG
02.03.2022, Stuttgart
"Wir brauchen kreative Lösungen und schnelle Hilfe".
Zum Interview >
Medien
06.2019, SCHÖNER WOHNEN
KINDER HELFEN KINDERN
Was für ein monstermäßiges Kunstprojekt: Kinder aus brasilianischen Favelas gestalten Wall-Art, Schreibwaren und Wohnaccessoires.
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
29.05.2019, ESSLINGER ZEITUNG
DIE KRAFT VON LICHT UND SCHATTEN
Esslingen: Wanderausstellung „Me Myself“ im Amtsgericht zeigt beeindruckende Portraits
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
29.05.2019, STUTTGARTER NACHRICHTEN
KUNST KANN KINDERN HELFEN
Verein Arthelps engagiert sich auch in Kriegsgebieten.
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
22.05.2019, GEHEIMTIPP STUTTGART
ARTHELPS 2.0
Mit Kunst helfen: ARTHELPS zieht in die Stuttgarter Mitte
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
INTERVIEW MIT 0711
12.06.2017, 0711 Blog
In der Serie „0711er der Woche“ wird jeden Montag ein Stuttgarter vorgestellt. Leute, die unsere Stadt durch ihr Schaffen auf verschiedenste Art bereichern.
Zum Interview >
INTERVIEW MIT NOVUM
16.05.2017, Novum Online – world of graphic design
“Jeder soll die Möglichkeit haben, sich zu entfalten”
Zum Interview >
INTERVIEW MIT WYME
07.05.2017, wyme – where the wyrd things are
Seit einem Jahr unterstützen junge Ehrenamtliche aus Deutschland ein Kunstprojekt in Mossul. Wir haben uns mit den ArtHelpern Thomas Lupo und Felix Eichhorn über ihre Erfahrungen unterhalten.
Zum Interview >
09.11.2016, Das Gerber Online
Arthelps im Gerber
Nach einer erfolgreichen Kooperation mit ARTHELPS im Gerber im vergangenen Jahr, findet auch 2016 eine große Aktion für den guten Zweck statt.
ARTHELPS ist eine Initiative von Kreativen und Künstlern, die sich nicht auf ihren eigenen Werken ausruht, sondern Menschen aus sozial benachteiligten Verhältnissen mit Kunst hilft. Am 26. November stellt sich das neueste Projekt der Künstlergruppe namens UN/HIDE vor.
Zum vollständigen Artikel >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
TEDxStuttgart
29.09.2018, TED Talk
Kann Kunst, Kreativität und Design Menschen in schwierigen Lebenssituationen helfen? Das hat sich Künstler, Design Director und Autor Thomas Lupo anfangs auch gefragt. Dass es funktioniert, zeigt die weltweit aktive Organisation ARTHELPS, die aus seinem Experiment in einer brasilianischen Favela entstanden ist.
14.12.2015, LANDESSCHAU BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG
ARTHELPS FÜR KINDER UND KREATIVITÄT
Der Kreativdirektor einer Werbeagentur, Thomas Lupo, hat ARTHELPS gegründet. Dabei veranstalten Kreative unterschiedliche Workshops für Kinder und Jugendliche.
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
30.11.2015, STUTTGARTER ZEITUNG
KREATIVES KUNSTLABOR
Gemeinsam mit Flüchtlingskindern wird die Initiative Arthelps kreativ: Was dabei entsteht, wird am 19. Dezember für einen guten Zweck zum Verkauf angeboten.
Momentan ist der Eckraum im oberen Stockwerk des Einkaufszentrums „Das Gerber“ noch relativ schmucklos. „Aber wir wollen den Raum komplett verändern“, sagt Thomas Lupo, der Gründer der Initiative Arthelps. Und zwar mit Kunst und Kreativität: Arthelps ist eine Gruppe von Künstlern, Designern und anderen Kreativen, die ihren Schaffensdrang mit anderen teilen wollen, genauer gesagt, mit sozial benachteiligten Menschen. Für dieses Projekt, „Artvent“ betitelt, sind es Flüchtlinge.

„Jeder Mensch ist kreativ“, sagt Thomas Lupo. „Diese Kreativität wollen wir herauskitzeln, die Angst davor abbauen.“ Und so arbeitet die Arthelps-Initiative – gegründet vor sechs Jahren – mit jungen Flüchtlingen direkt in den Unterkünften, aber auch mitten in der Stadt, im Gerber. „Jeder von uns bringt Talente und Fähigkeiten aus seinem Beruf mit ein und ist hier ehrenamtlich mit dabei“, erklärt Lupo. So sitzen die kleineren Flüchtlingskinder gemeinsam mit den Künstlern an einem Tisch und malen oder kleben bunte Federn auf Papier. Die Älteren sind mit Collagen und Grafiken beschäftigt, schneiden Formen aus und arrangieren sie neu, oder arbeiten mit Betonplatten, in die sie Buchstaben oder Symbole ritzen. …
Kompletten Artikel lesen >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
10.07.2015, SPIEGEL ONLINE
KUNST MIT FLÜCHTLINGEN: ICH KANN HIER MEIN HERZ AUSSCHÜTTEN
„Sie haben einen Bombenangriff überlebt oder die Flucht im Boot: minderjährige Flüchtlinge, die alleine unterwegs sind. Studierende der Hochschule Konstanz helfen ihnen mit einem multimedialen Kunstprojekt beim Neustart.“ So beschreibt Simone Utler auf SPIEGEL Online unser Projekt „Grenzenlos“.
Der Junge wickelt große Bahnen aus weißem Papier um sich, bis nur noch die dunklen Augen, die Nase oder der Mund herausschauen. Dann werden Landschaftsfotos auf ihn projiziert: ein Bild aus der Wüste, ein Bild vom Meer. „In beiden war ich – auf meinem Weg nach Deutschland.“

Das sagt Robiel und es klingt so selbstverständlich, während er da steht, eingewickelt in einem Wust aus Papier.
Zum vollständigen Artikel >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
12.06.2014, SLANTED ONLINE
ARTHELPS – MORRO DO PAPAGAIO
Mit der Kollektion »Morro do Papagaio« geht ARTHELPS neue, spannende Wege und setzt Maßstäbe in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit. Was am Ende bleibt, sind faire Löhne in der Produktion, naturbewusste Stoffe – und allen voran glückliche Nachwuchs-Designer aus einer Favela in Brasilien.
Die Geschichte hinter der Kollektion:

Im Februar 2014 reist das ARTHELPS-Team nach Belo Horizonte – in die Favela »Morro do Papagaio«. Hier findet ein zweiwöchiges Kreativ-Projekt mit Kindern und Jugendlichen aus den Armenvierteln statt. Das große Ziel: gemeinsam eine eigene T-Shirt-Kollektion zu entwerfen. Die Motive, die entstehen, drehen sich zum einen um den Papageienvogel, den Namensgeber der Favela. Zum anderen geht es natürlich um Fußball: Das Thema ist allgegenwärtig – alle fiebern auf die WM im eigenen Land hin. Am Ende des Projekts sind Hunderte Entwürfe und Designs digitalisiert und das Team hat mehr Material, als es sich wünschen könnte. Zufrieden sind die Beteiligten aber auch aus anderen Gründen. Denn bei dem Projekt geht es um mehr, als nur um das Entwerfen der T-Shirts: Ziel des kreativen Arbeitens ist, dass die Jugendlichen unbekannte Seiten an sich entdecken und dadurch Kraft tanken. Beim Entwerfen gibt es zwar Regeln – aber nur, um diese zu brechen. Das Team animiert bewusst dazu, neu zu denken, eigene Ideen zu finden und Dinge auszuprobieren. Erstaunliche Ergebnisse, Überraschungen und Glücksmomente sind so garantiert.

Zurück in Deutschland werden die vielen verschiedene Entwürfe gesichtet, bearbeitet und schließlich für die Produktion finalisiert. Insgesamt 12 T-Shirts umfasst die Kollektion »Morro do Papagaio« am Ende.

Sie ist hergestellt aus 100% zertifizierter Bio-Baumwolle, produziert in Europa – und trägt die Geschichte der Kinder und Jugendlichen der Favela »Morro do Papagaio« hinaus in die Welt. Mit den Erlösen der Verkäufe fördert ARTHELPS Bildungsprojekte in der Favela. Morro do Papagaio – schon bald in Deinem Kleiderschrank!

Unterstützen könnt ihr »Morro do Papagaio« und weitere Hilfprojekte von Arthelps mit einer Spende. Die T-Shirts sind im Arthelps Online-Shop erhältlich.
Zum Artikel >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
4.06.2014, SAT.1-FRÜHSTÜCKSFERNSEHEN
SAT.1 FRÜHSTÜCKSFERNSEHEN
Thomas Lupo, Design-Direktor bei Jung von Matt, hat sechs Monate in einer Favela in Rio mit Kindern gearbeitet. Mit seinem Kreativ-Projekt will er ihnen neue Perspektiven aufzeigen.
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
ARD / NDR
16.05.2014, Talkshow Tietjen & Hirschhausen
Thomas Lupo (ARTHELPS) in der TV-Talkshow „Tietjen und Hirschhausen“.
ZDF HEUTE
11.10.2012, ZDF HEUTE
Das ZDF Fernsehen berichtete in der “HEUTE”- Sendung über das aktuelle ARTHELPS Projekt. Es handelt sich um ein Kooperationsprojekt zwischen dem gemeinnützigen Unternehmen “Neuen Arbeit” und Arthelps.
10/2012, EIN BUCH VON DR. MED. ECKART VON HIRSCHHAUSEN
WOHIN GEHT DIE LIEBE
Dr. Med. Eckart von Hirschhausen stellt ARTHELPS in seinem Buch vor.
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
11.06.2012, SPIEGEL ONLINE
KREATIVTRAINING IN FAVELA: SENHOR TOM UND SEINE MONSTER
“Kinder in Deutschland malen oft Häuser. Oder Bäume. Oder ihre Familie. Oder ein Auto. Die Kids aus Morro do Papagaio stehen total auf Monster. “Da kann man nichts falsch machen, jedes Monster ist individuell und damit genau richtig so, wie es geschaffen wurde”, erklärt Designer Thomas Lupo. “Es ist egal, wie viele Arme, Beine und Augen ein Wesen hat – die Kinder können sich austoben.”
“Lupo ist Grafiker und Designer aus Deutschland, Morro do Papagaio, der Papageienhügel, ist eine Favela im brasilianischen Belo Horizonte. Etwa 16.000 Menschen leben hier. Lupo war im Sommer 2009 für sechs Monate in dem Armenviertel und leitete ein Kreativtraining für Kinder. Inzwischen hat er die Ergebnisse seiner Arbeit in einem Buch zusammengefasst…”
Vollständigen Artikel herunterladen >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
ZDF KULTUR
20.04.2012
“ANLEITUNG ZUM AUSBRECHEN”

Thomas Lupo erzählt von seinen Erfahrungen in Morro do Papagaio, wo er mit einfachsten Mitteln ein Kreativtrainingscamp für Kinder initiierte. Kinder, die es nicht gewöhnt sind, dass jemand an sie glaubt. Die Arbeiten, die dort entstanden, dokumentiert er in seinem Bildband (Deutscher Fotobuchpreis 2012, Gold vom DDC).
ARTE
14.4.2012
SENDUNG “METROPOLIS”

Thomas Lupo berichtet, wie er sich in Brasilien mitten im Herz der Favela „Morro do Papagaio“ einquartierte, Kids der Nachbarschaft zusammentrommelte und Säuberungsmaßnahmen der Regierung mit Kreativität die Stirn bot. Und wie daraus ein preisgekröntes Buch sowie der Verein und die Stiftung ARTHELPS entstanden.
5.11.2012, STUTTGARTER ZEITUNG
SCHICKE MÖBEL AUS ALTEN PALETTEN GEBAUT
“Bei einem Projekt von Arthelps und Neue Arbeit haben 14 Jugendliche ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf gelassen.” Ein Artikel von Ralf Recklies.
“Möbel der ganz besonderen Art haben 14 Jugendliche im Alter zwischen 16 und 20 Jahren in der vergangenen Woche bei einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Sozialunternehmens Neue Arbeit und des Vereins Arthelps geschaffen. Fünf Tagelang wurden im ehemaligen Tafelladen an der Böblinger Straße aus Transportpaletten Sessel und Stühle, Couch- und Esstische, aber auch Lampen sowie ein Wandmosaik gefertigt.

Die so geschaffenen Möbel und Wohnaccessoires sollen schon bald in einer Ausstellung präsentiert werden…”
Kompletten Artikel herunterladen >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
04/2012, DIE PRESSE
DIE JUNGEN AUSBRECHER VOM PAPAGEIENHÜGEL
“Der Werber Thomas Lupo tauschte die schicke Agentur fünf Monate lang gegen eine brasilianische Favela: Mit Kindern kreierte er Papiermonster, Street Art und Selbstvertrauen statt Kampagnen. Jetzt sucht er noch mehr Kreative, die mit ihren Ideen sozial etwas verändern wollen.”
“Eine klassische “Kreativschmiede” hat eine Dame am Empfang, einen guten Rut, einen Haufen Werbepreise im Regal, ständig Spitzenplätze in den Kreativ-Rankings und viele junge Menschen, die Tischfußball spielen, wenn sie nicht gerade brainstormen und Kampagnen erfinden. Doch eine Kreativschmiede kann sich auch am Stadtrand eines brasilianischen Millionenmolochs hinter einer Ziegelmauer verstecken. Viele wissen ja auch gar nicht, dass sie das Zeug dazu haben. Bis ein Deutscher kommt, mit einem großen Rucksack voller Klebstoff, abgelaufenen Filmen, einen Kopf voller Ideen und einem leicht mulmigen Gefühl…”
Vollständigen Artikel herunterladen >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
04/2012, EMOTION
KUNST WIRKT!
Die emotion stellt im April 2012 das Buch “Anleitung zum Ausbrechen” vor.
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
01/2011, TYPO SHIRT ONE
SHIRT DESIGNS
Die verschiedenen T-Shirt-Designs erscheinen im “TYPO SHIRT ONE”, herausgegeben von Slanted c/o MAGMA Brand Design.
TypoShirt One is a new book that we published at Index Book / Barcelona. We had a great time putting it together and are so happy to see that now its there, bringing sunshine to these gray winterdays. Featuring more than 1,700 unique designs from all over the world, TypoShirt One is the first book to focus exclusively on T-shirt typography. Spanning message and logo T-shirts to more abstract and arty models that transmit more cryptic messages, TypoShirt One showcases current and historical T-shirts from small, independent labels and artists to those created by globally recognized names and brands.

Ever since the T-shirt crossed over from unadorned male innerwear item to a hugely popular unisex wardrobe staple more than half a century ago, no other piece of apparel has featured as many expressive and fascinating claims, statements, typefaces and “instant messages.” These transmitted messages gain an irreversible strength and power through the motifs that, in this book’s pages, are reduced to their substance, related to the form and content.
Komplette Seiten herunterladen >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
21.05.2011
TYPO BERLIN 2011
Auf Europas größte Designkonferenz hält Thomas Lupo einen Vortrag über seine Arbeit und ARTHELPS. U.a. Typo Talk und die PAGE berichten über den Talk.
33/2011, WERBEN & VERKAUFEN
EXTREMERFAHRUNG IN BRASILIEN
“Der JvM-Kreative Thomas Lupo taucht in den Alltag von Favela-Kindern ein.

Nachts träumt er immer wieder von Szenen, die er in einer brasilianischen Favela erlebt hat. Fünf Monate hatte Thomas Lupo, heute Grafik-Designer bei Jung von Matt/Neckar, am Stadtrand von Belo Horizonte im Jahr 2009 verbracht, mit einem Ziel: das kreative Potenzial bei den sozial benachteiligten Kindern und Jugendlichen zu wecken, deren Alltag von Gewalt, Arbeitslosigkeit, Drogen geprägt ist.
Tagsüber half Lupo bei einer Kindertagesstätte mit, dafür bekam er ein Zimmer zur Verfügung gestellt. In der Freizeit, auf der Straße initiierte er mit einfachsten Mitteln Kreativ-Workshops. Nur den Rahmen gab der Designer vor. Monster waren zum Beispiel ein Thema…
Kompletten Artikel herunterladen >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen
09/2011, MAGAZIN FORM
KEINE ANGST VOR KIDS / THOMAS LUPO GOES BRAZIL
In der form 240 erscheint als Cover Story der Bericht über die Zeit von Thomas Lupo in der Favela Morro do Papagaio: “Der Grafikdesigner Thomas Lupo verbrachte fünf Monate in Brasilien, um mit Kindern der Favela Morro do Papagaio gestalterisch aktiv zu werden. Sein Projekt „Pra Fora/ Outward“ sollte mit kreativen Workshops die Kinder beschäftigen, ihr Selbstbewusstsein stärken und zugleich durch die kunstvoll beklebten und besprühten Wände auf die jüngste Generation aus dem Viertel aufmerksam machen.
Durch seinen Vortrag auf der Typo Berlin sind wir auf Thomas Lupo und seine Bachelorarbeit „Pra Fora / Outward“ aufmerksam geworden. Der 30-jährige Grafikdesigner zog für fünf Monate nach Brasilien in die Favela Morro do Papagaio, um mit den Kindern vor Ort Kreativprojekte durchzuführen. Sein Buch „Anleitung zum Ausbrechen“ erscheint im Herbst bei Hermann Schmidt Mainz.” …
Kompletten Artikel herunterladen >
Weniger anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen